- When to File and Pay
- Extensions of Time to File
- Prepayment Requirements for Filing Extension
- Deadlines to Claim a Refund or Credit
- See also Utah Income Tax Penalties and Interest
- See also Innocent or Injured Spouse for information on tax relief due to the actions of a spouse
Please note: our due date has changed to match the new due date for federal taxes. You must file your return and pay any tax due:
- by May 17, 2021, if you file on a calendar year basis (tax year ends Dec. 31, 2020); or
- by the 15th day of the fourth month after the fiscal year ends, if you file on a fiscal year basis. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the due date is the next business day.
You must pay all Utah income taxes for the tax year by the due date. You may be subject to penalties and interest if you do not file your return on time or do not pay all income tax due by the due date. See Utah Income Tax Penalties and Interest.
This is NOT an extension of time to pay your taxes – it is an extension to file your return.
You get an automatic extension of up to six months to file your return. You do not need to file an extension form, but we will assess penalties if you have not met the prepayment requirements (see below).
See Utah Income Tax Penalties and Interest for more information. All extension returns must be filed by Oct. 15, 2021. This date did not change as a result of the IRS federal filing date change.
You must prepay by the original due date:
- 90 percent of your 2020 tax due (TC-40 line 27 plus line 30);
- 100 percent of your 2019 tax liability (2019 TC-40 line 27 plus line 30); or
- 90 percent of your 2020 tax due (TC-40, line 27 plus line 30) if you did not have a Utah tax liability in 2019 or if this is your first year filing.
You may prepay through withholding (W-2, TC-675R, 1099-R, etc.), payments applied from previous year refunds, credits and credit carryovers, or payments made by the tax due date using form TC-546, Individual Income Tax Prepayment Coupon, or at tap.utah.gov. Interest is assessed on unpaid tax from the original filing due date until the tax is paid in full. Penalties may also apply.
To qualify for a refund or credit, you must file a return within:
- three years from the original return due date (plus extensions), or
- two years from the payment date.
For amended returns, you must file a claim for refund or credit within:
- two years after you had to file an amended Utah return based on changes to your federal return made by the IRS, or
- three years from the original due date (plus extensions) of the return of a loss year to report a net operating loss carryback.