Utah Income Tax Penalties and Interest
Utah Income Tax Penalties and Interest
If you are filing your return or paying any tax late, you may owe penalties and interest. Calculate your penalty and interest by using the Penalty and Interest Calculator at tap.utah.gov or by following the instructions in Pub 58, Utah Interest and Penalties. We will send you a bill if you do not pay the penalties and interest with your return or if the penalty and/or interest is calculated incorrectly.
Utah Code §59-1-401 authorizes the Tax Commission to assess the following penalties on individual income tax:
- Late filing penalty
- Late payment penalty
- Extension penalty
- Additional penalties
- Failure to file information returns or supporting schedules
Penalties are separated by tax type and the date returns are filed or payments are made. Penalties are assessed as follows:
|1 – 5 days||The greater of $20 or 2% of the unpaid tax|
|6 – 15 days||The greater of $20 or 5% of the unpaid tax|
|16 or more days||The greater of $20 or 10% of the unpaid tax|
If a tax-due return is not filed by the original due date, or by the extension period due date, a late filing penalty will be assessed.
All tax, penalty and interest due must be paid when a return is filed. If they are not paid by the original due date, a late-payment penalty will be assessed.
If the late-filing penalty has been assessed, the late-payment penalty will not be assessed until 91 days after the due date of the return. If the return is not filed within the 90 days, both the late-filing penalty and the late-payment penalty will be assessed.
Utah automatically grants a six-month extension to file income tax returns (not an extension to pay tax due). However, you will receive an extension penalty if you do not make the required prepayment by the original return due date.
Your prepaid credits (withholding tax, pre-payments, credits, etc.) must equal at least:
- 90% of the current year tax liability,
- 100% of the previous year tax liability, or
- 90% of the current year tax liability if you did not file a return or had zero tax in the prior year.
The penalty on the unpaid tax is 2% per month, calculated on a daily basis, until the date the return is filed. The penalty calculation is:
(unpaid tax) x 0.24 x (number of days) ÷ 365
Notes on Penalties
- If you file during the extension period, you must still pay any tax due by the original due date. Interest is assessed on any unpaid tax, from the original due date of the return until the date the tax is paid.
- If you file during the extension period, you must pay any extension penalty and interest when you file the return. If you do not, you will be assessed a failure-to-pay penalty.
- You do not need to make a prepayment if you had no tax liability on your previous year’s return. If you did not file a return the previous year, you must prepay 90% of the current year’s tax liability.
- There is no late-filing penalty (including on an amended return) if you have no tax due on the return.
The following penalties may apply due to audit findings:
- If underpayment of tax is due to negligence, the penalty is 10% of the underpayment.
- If underpayment is due to intentional disregard of law or rule, the penalty is 15% of the underpayment.
- If underpayment results from intent to evade the tax, the penalty is the greater of $500 per period or 50% of the underpayment.
- If the underpayment is due to fraud with intent to evade the tax, the penalty is the greater of $500 per period or 100% of the underpayment.
See Pub 58, Utah Interest and Penalties for more information, including penalties for other taxes.
If you fail to file an information return, complete a required supporting schedule, or use an approved form, the penalty is $50 for each return or schedule up to a maximum of $1,000.
Utah Code §59-1-402 authorizes the Tax Commission to assess interest. Interest applies to underpayments, deficiencies, and delinquencies.
For calendar year 2019 (Jan. 1, 2019 – Dec. 31, 2019), the interest rate is 4 percent.
Interest is calculated from the original due date of the return until the tax liability is paid in full. Interest is calculated as follows:
interest = (unpaid tax) x (interest rate) x (number of days) ÷ 365
Note: Payments are applied first to penalties, then to interest, and last to the tax liability. See Rule R861-1A-18.